• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

What is your opinion on attending a music college ?

Allen EL

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
I am getting to the point where I am thinking about applying to school. What do you guys think about school like the guitar institute of technology, Berklee college of music, or generally any state school guitar program?

Christopher Lonski

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Yeah dude, Im an MI graduate. It was a truely incredible experience being completely immersed in music and seriously rubbing elbows with literally THE BEST musicians in the world. Easily the best 2 years of my life, so far. My advice to ANYONE going to music school is #1 just focus on learning as much as you can and being the best musician possible. Learn new material EVERY DAY. Take in new stuff and let it fall away in your conscious mind. The analogy that I got from my teacher Al Bonhomme is that your musical brain is like a lake. The reason the Great Salt Lakes are so salty is that water runs in, bringing in mineral deposits(like salt) and it has nowhere to drain so it gets gross and salty. Your mind works the same way; you take in a little material and harp on the same stuff for long periods of time, and your playing gets salty. ALWAYS look at the fretboard in a different way then you did the day before and you WILL get better. Another part is that I, personally, made the mistake of trying to keep straight A’s and making honors, but the reality is that no musical setting you go into will ever be asking to see your diploma. Going to music school, especially if you dont have to work to pay bills because you have student loans or family support, may be the last time you have to focus on nothing but music for a very long ti