• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Practice with metronome~

Not sure if this is the right spot for this... But tried to do the C Major Scale with a metronome. I’m a beginner, so I think the speed is only at 100bpm. (I can definitely play it faster, but I’m not used to the metronome still) Google has a free one I’ve been using. Hope I did alright!
You are doing really well Rowan! Its a really good habit to pick up. I see you are playing one note per beat which is a good way to start. There are multiple ways to do it like for exemple playing 4 notes per beat or 8, etc... you get the point. But really playing with the metronome is always about adjusting to what you can do well and then after that evolving the exercise.

As for the speed, the best advice I can give is to always adjust to the speed you need. There isnt a beginner or advanced speed. I am a more advanced guitarist and after Bill gave me some exercises, I was floored because I couldnt do them at his recommended speed and had to readjust to a much slower pace and build up from there.

My point is, go at your pace You are doing really well!

Thank you so much for such an amazing and supportive, yet constructive comment Radu! I really appreciate it. And I read something that said, one note per beat until about 120bpm and then try to do two per beat. But I think I’ll just try to do what fits me at the time. There’s so many ways you could do it, like you elaborated on.
I feel you. Bill and Jak are a big part of the reason I’m working on this in the first place. And I definitely thought it best to work slow and correct myself as I go than try to fly through it and get mistakes stuck into habit.

Reactions: Rad Synner