• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

struggling bending/vibrateo (with example video)

Kim

Garage band Groupie
Nov 11, 2019
Hi

Im trying to play solos that are not thay hard, but i am struggling with bending. Sometimes on high frets (like so far away solo) my strings go under my fingers and i have hard time to make it sound good, not false.
Something im not good at is vibrato, but these two things are so important for good sound, and now it sounds not good. But i want to learn to do it, so maybe some tips on how to get technique better?

First video is end of so far away, really struggling with bending on 15th and 17th fret, especially the higher strings
Second is an example of me playing smeels like teen spirit, it is an easy solo, but it doesnt sounds good as i play it :)

My great guitar goal is to play One by Metallica, whole song, i dont have to accomlish that in a year or so, but wanna play it one day :) So theres a long way to go for me
Playing chords or power chords song are ok for me, it is especially fingerstyle r solo, but i like that, so wanna get better

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
I'm not really sure how to explain this but basically when you bend try to make sure that you don't fret the sting above it(when you want to bend the high E string don't press down on the B string). However, you want to press up the B string too without pressing it down. That's down by pressing it up without actually fretting it if that makes sense.

Vibrato really can take a long time to develop. There are multiple ways of doing it, for example circular, up and down. I think the first thing to look into is the way you want to do your vibrato.
I made these a while ago maybe they help too

Bellah83