• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD
Golden Goddess Guitar Leaderboard
redlipsofdeceit

Metallica - The Day That Never Comes (intro practice)

Hi, guys!
So, I just started learning this part of the song, 'cause I thought it would be easy and it would give me some motivation to keep my practice routine going.
I know, I should start using a metronome. But I thought it was harder to play with it (?). It got me really confused. Is it really hard, at the beginning, to get used to the metronome? Does anyone have any tip/advice to share about it?
Sounding good, if I could offer a suggestion it would be to get the pinky involved. Barre the g,b,e strings with your index at the 12th and use your remaining fingers to fret the other notes as required, letting all the notes ring out.

As for the metronome, for this song set it for quarter notes (if necessary set the tempo slower than the song), and you should be aiming for 2 notes per click, like '1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &', numbers on the click, the &'s falling inbetween.

Hope that makes sense.

Keep up the practice🤘

• Love
Reactions: redlipsofdeceit
Great job to even attempt that. Best advice I can give is keep your fingers of your fretting hand as close to the fretboard as possible to minimize movement and enable you to get back to those notes faster.

• Love
I LOVE THIS SONG SO MUCH 🥺👉👈
Well done sys, keep going! 👏😻

I think I have a few tips for you to get used to the metronome:

Go to YouTube and put the music you want to learn with half speed and try counting the notes per beat.